A Wedding, A Kiss, A Flight Back to Ecuador

Cameron, Corinna, Michael, Whitney (Cam's sister)

  As many of you know, Cameron and I spent the last week in Washington. Cameron’s only brother Colby got married and his family brought us back for the wedding. It was a beautiful wedding and a fun weekend followed by kisses and hugs for my family in Portland and then a few days with my sisters and step-dad in Seattle. Lots of fun in a short amount of time. Seattle is at it’s best this time of year and I fell head over heels in love with the city all over again. Fresh peaches, perfect sunshine, and of course all the wonderful ladies I adore so much. I was lucky to get to spend quite a bit of (never enough) time with my incredible girl friends and LUKE a whole 10 lbs of brand new baby boy. I can promise one thing- that little guy will no doubt be spoiled with so many aunties. Thank you Maili for supplying us with out first baby!!!

All the baby ogling, new houses, and wedding planning going on at home makes me jealous and excited for what is to come in my life. Cam would roll his eyes at that and remind me that there is plenty of time for the future, to take a deep breath and enjoy our lives. But it is just at the center of who I am. Although I am loving every second of Ecuador, I always keep one eye on the promise of the future…I don’t know if it’s hormones, my age, grass-is-always-greener syndrome, or just part of my personality but I just can’t help myself.

Maili, Brian, and Baby Luke, photo by Monica Hines

Luckily Maili was kind enough to bring Luke over for a few hours of baby time. We passed him from bosom to bosom only letting him go when he needed to eat. I now know though, just how much working with new babies helped curb my own baby cravings. Not having those little babies to cuddle at work has nearly turned me into a baby maniac walking down the street! Poor Cameron…

Speaking of Cameron, he’s due to arrive back in Quito, Ecuador tomorrow night. From here we will probably start heading south toward Peru where it looks like we have some volunteer work lined up for the next few months. This last month of travel and rum has been wonderful, but I’m definitely feeling ready to be useful in a way that doesn’t end with sunbathing and sight-seeing. Our plan is to do about 3 months of volunteer work and then continue our travels through Peru and toward the South. I’ll post more on our volunteer work soon!

9 Comments

Filed under 1) Seattle, 3) Ecuador

9 responses to “A Wedding, A Kiss, A Flight Back to Ecuador

  1. I think somebody needs a PUPPY.

  2. Margo O'Connell

    What a beautiful portrait! Kudos to Monica, excellent lighting, and gorgeous family. I can see why you desire that for yourself. Thank you for sharing.

  3. Kate

    So good to see you as always!! Travel safely and enjoy every second of it!!

  4. Dinah Driver

    Although too short, it was so great to see you and give you a hug. Be safe in your travels and keep on blogging my friend. Kate and I are talking about a visit in Argentina.. We will see how that pans out but it would be great to see you and the alpaca man!! xxooxxoo

    • Happy Birthday Dinah- Oh, and by the way, if you really love Alpaca man you should definitely come down so you can see him interact with REAL Andean Alpacas.

  5. Maili

    Oh friend!!! You made me sad all over again that you came and went. Thanks for the sweet words…I think Luke is pretty special and its nice to know the feeling is shared with my friends. Miss you, travel safe! Luke will be wearing his hat in remembrance 🙂

  6. Suzanne

    So glad you had a great time back home however fleeting. It must have made leaving everyone hard all over again… but the USA’s loss is my gain and I am keeping my fingers crossed that we’ll see each other in Peru really soon. Hugs to you both xx

Leave a Reply

