4th of July Sprinklers

Oh my lovely San Francisco, how I adore you. I had forgotten how this city melts my heart. Just walking down the sidewalk puts a smile in my heart and a skip in my step. So many languages, cultures, food…I didn’t quite realize how I missed it. But then I remember what it’s like to cart your laundry to the laundry mat and to plan your life around when and where you might have the luck of finding a parking space and I appreciate my life in Seattle- sea of white faces and all.

I spent a few days with my beloved Megan- best friend from college who I see once a year if I’m lucky. I crashed her romantic weekend with her husband and rolled out my sleeping pad on the floor of their luxury room at the Claremont Hotel and Spa. They had to leave early the next am for a 12 hour drive to Portland but I stayed around and enjoyed the resort pool and gym all day!

I ate papusas with Victoria, another BFF of mine from school. We went to opening night at Big Umbrella Studios, a cooperative art gallery owned by a friend’s younger sister. But mostly we just enjoyed each other’s company and analyzed life in general. Vic is one of those special people in my life who I can do nothing with. I love her.

And now I’m in Sonoma/Napa with my cousins who I  neglected for way too long. Last night the 5 of us girls watched the local country club’s fireworks show. Wine and cheese and friends- it was wonderful. Wonderful until about 5 minutes before showtime when the entire golf course we were sprawled on (along with 500+ other people) erupted in a massive spray from every sprinkler head. I have never seen a crowd of people move so fast! We were lucky enough to be seated next to a quick thinker who threw his blanket over the sprinkler and blocked the spray with his foot. We managed to stay dry for the fireworks, although I can’t say most people were so blessed. =) Good memories for Independence Day.

Tomorrow it’s off to Santa Cruz for my last few days in the states and then finally into Cam’s arms (or as my friend Maili puts it, into the arms of the “drug lords of Colombia”.

2 Comments

Filed under California, Uncategorized

2 responses to “4th of July Sprinklers

  1. Breasts with the cousins, and now off to Santa Cruz…. us family in Boulder are jealous.

  2. Maili

    I’m just concerned about you friend….and I believe everything I see on TV 🙂

Leave a Reply

