Surreal Reality

In exactly 28 days Cameron and I celebrate our last day of work. I begin June with the absolutely incredible knowledge that while I really have no clue what the next year holds for me, I do know it doesn’t involve 12 hour shifts or working holidays. Cameron pointed out last night that 2 months from this very moment, we will be half way around the world. I don’t know that the reality of it will really hit until we are done with the vaccinations, the passport details, the plane tickets, and the complete purging of our Seattle apartment. (I’ve spent weeks trying to convince Cam to let go of the faded green leather loveseat…and then today found myself pausing fondly by the wooden media table I bought off craigslist and trying to figure out how I can keep it.) Lots to do between now and then and I have a feeling the next 2 months are going to pull me along by the seat of my pants.

Rutasurreal. Ruta means Road, or Route. Sur means South. Real means royal. Surreal you know. Although my experience with South America is limited to a 16 year-old’s version of Brazil, I do think of Latin America in general as surreal. Everything is brighter, louded, spicier- like a dream. Standing in a bus terminal in Guatemala, for example, is kind of like standing in the middle of Disneyland, only even more chaotic. The colors of the hand-me-down US school buses repainted in blue and pink and green. The street food sizzling and wafting in every direction. The stray dogs yelping under the tires of bicycles and buses, The boys hanging out of bus windows hollering out their destination as the bus starts to roll and the passengers hurry to toss their baskets onto the roof. It’s total chaos and it makes my heart want to sing.

So I don’t know what we will find as we work our way from Colombia to Uruguay, but I imagine that the next year of real life for Cameron and I will be overflowing with surreality.

2 Comments

Filed under 1) Seattle, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Surreal Reality

  1. Corinna! I am loving this blog! I can’t wait to follow you on your journey and you will be very missed!

    Hugs, Jenn

  2. Katie Lamm

    I love being able to keep up with your journey, miss you Cam.
    Love, your OLDer sister 😉

Leave a Reply

